This is a platform for User Generated Content. G/O Media assumes no liability for content posted by Kinja users to this platform.

Ganassi, Porsche Win Crash Filled 12 Hours Of Sebring

Illustration for article titled Ganassi, Porsche Win Crash Filled 12 Hours Of Sebring

After a display of amateur hour (even by amateur driver standards), Chip Ganassi Racing brought Ford their first EcoBoost win and first overall win since 1969. The 912 Porsche scored a back-to-back win for Porsche in GTLM.


Two big incidents between pairs of PC cars dominated the beginning of the race, the majority of which was spent behind the pace car. Despite limited changes from last year's rules for the class, the PC cars prompted cries for higher driving standards from drivers, teams, and commentators alike. However, once the worst aggressors were back in the garages, things began to settle down.


A late caution from the spun Marsh DP set up a dash for the finish amongst some of the top prototype drivers. Ryan Dalziel made up half the gap to Marino Franchitti in the final 20 minutes but couldn't reel him in (enabling Scott Pruett to say hi to his family at home). Behind them reads like a who's-who of sports car aces: Sebastien Bourdais, Olivier Pla, Simon Pagenaud, and Scott Dixon.

In PC, Colin Braun held off Bruno Junquiera as the two surviving cars in class on the lead lap. In GTLM an unforced error from Olly Gavin let Jorg Bergmeister take the win. As is common, there were 5 manufacturers in the top 6 cars in class. Controversy follows the 912, however, as the class winning car avoiding penalty for contact with a GTD Ferrari while the AJR Porsche received the penalty in error.


In GTD, Porsche made back their deficiencies from Daytona which enabled Magnus Racing to score the class win. The 911 Americas locked up 3 of the top 4 positions in class.


The next race is at Long Beach where Prototype and GTLM teams will take to the mean streets in their first sprint race of the season.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter